Caring

Each week I am involved with a children’s club at church and alternate weeks I take an assembly at our local primary school – I do not choose the themes for either and this week I got the same theme twice – Caring for others. One used the story of the servant girl and Naaman and the other the parable of the Good Samaritan.

Both urged the children to care for others – whoever they were – to help them back on their feet and into a fuller life.

For reasons I can’t describe here I have occasion in the last two weeks to think about how we as a church, and as a wider community care for those who are in need, for whatever reason.

I am so proud of my church who came to the aid of people in need, worked their socks off and were very generous with money, time and encouragement. They wanted to help people back on their feet and walk the long road that lays ahead – maybe for years – to help, encourage and train them with necessary skills to succeed. They also made visits, phone calls and accompanied people to difficult meeting and got abuse for their troubles.

What has struck me is the attitude of many in the ‘outside world’ – people who have condemned, threatened, and shown no sympathy or help. There has been no sense of support or training being offered – just rules and regulations and dire warnings for failure.

When did we, as a society, go from helping the helpless and encouraging others to this?.

Jesus said:

The Spirit of the Lord is on me,

because he has anointed me to preach good news to the poor.

He has sent me to proclaim freedom for the prisoners

and recovery of sight for the blind, to release the oppressed,

to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favour.

Luke 4: 18-19

I can only hope and pray that the example Christians set this week might rub off on others, changing attitudes, as well proclaiming the Good News to those we have helped and those who hear about it – God’s love in action,

In the past two weeks  God’s love looked like pink Flip flops and yellow rubber gloves, I wonder what it will look like next week?

Leave a Reply

